Bu-Hwal (Resurrection) by Ji-yun Lee

Score and parts

Percussion, piano, cello, c.12'30
Korean traditional music's rhythmic modes (changdan), pansori vocal techniques (grace notes with accents and glissandi) and modes (pyungyangjo and kyemyunjo), are merged with Western avant-garde compositional techniques (dissonance/consonance and diatonic/chromatic sonorities) whilst samulnori gong-sounds (with their eternal after-tone resonance association to Catholic bells) become symbolic of the spiritual dimension. A traditional Korean changgo drum quietly unfolds, with remembered samulnori percussion ensemble rhythms into an accruing motif momentum towards an explosive early two-handed oneness climax. Its gentle subsiding gives way to a beautiful cello lyric-stasis that floats through the air in Korean modal based sounds.
Download samples
Bu-Hwal (Resurrection) - sheet music

$55.00 for instant PDF download see:Buy Now
 ISMN 9790720078922


Childhood in Music by Antonietta Loffredo


Piano music by contemporary Australian and Italian composers played by Antonietta Loffredo.
A University of Western Sydney project this interesting CD is the second by Antoinetta in a collaboration with the composers who have been encouraged to write new pieces inspired by chilhood, simplified only in its instrumental components without linguistic or aesthetic compromises to enhance the different poetics that mark the contemporary art music panorama.
Scores by the Wirripang composers-  Sofia Marita, Ji Yun Lee, Michael Atherton and Diana Blom are available online.
Download samples
 1  Swinging for Ari (Sofia Marita) 
Kawaii Suite (Paul Smith)
 2  Ponyo
 3  Mokona 
 4  'A' is for Alice (Holly Harrison)
 5  Colour Variation I (Ji Yun Lee)
 6 Nanna told me so (Me lo ha detto la nonna) (Michael Atherton)
 7 - 13 Sette piccoli pezzi (Seven little pieces) (Massimo Priori ) 
 14  Music for a snowy day (Francesco Schweizer)
 15  Fogli dall'album - baluginii e distorsioni per pianoforte solo (Flares and distortion for piano solo) (Stefano Procaccioli)
 16 The Cat's Meow (Diana Blom and Adrian Barr)



Drama in Silence by Ji-yun Lee

Score and parts

clarinet, changgo, piano, cello, c.12'0
An intercultural fusion of vibrant and lyrical Korean traditional musics peppered with sharply observed contemporary dissonances
Download samples
Drama in Silence - sheet music
Drama in Silence - audio sample

$70.00 for instant PDF download see:Buy Now
 ISMN M720041940


Jo-Wha (Oneness) - CD by Various Composers


A compilation created for the Intercultural Concert, 2006 Aurora Festival. Composers include Clare Maclean, Bruce Crossman, Ross Edwards, Stuart Greenbaum, Kim Cunio, Ji-Yun Lee, Michael Atherton and Anne Boyd.  Performed by Sydney Chamber Choir conducted by Paul Stanhope, Ian Munro, Diana Blom (piano), Michael Atherton (percussion), Lotte Latukefu, Heather Lee, Merlinda Bobis (vocal).
Print music for most of the works are available online.
Download samples
 1  Kyrie (Cklare Maclean) 
 2  Daragang Magayon Cantata (Bruce Crossman) 
 3  Kumari (Ross Edwards) 
 4  First Light (Stuart Greenbaum) 
 5  Sh'mah Yisrael, Chant 5 - The Temple Project (Kim Cunio) 
 6  Jo-Wha (Oneness) (Ji-Yun Lee) 
 7  Jiriyai! (Michael Atherton) 
 8  As I crossed a Bridge of Dreams (Anne Boyd) 


Music of the Spirit by Various Composers

Double CD

Double CD featuring works by Michael Atherton, Anne Boyd, Diana Blom, Bruce Crossman, Houston Dunleavy, Ross Edwards, Ji-yun Lee, Garth Paine, Chinary Ung, SynC, austraLYSIS.
Download samples
Disc 1
 1  Etymalong (Ross Edwards)
 2  Chun-Hyang Ka: Korean Love Song (Ji-Yun Lee)
Seven Mirrors  (3-9) (Chinary Ung)
Mvt 1,   Mvt 2,   Mvt 3,   Mvt 4
Mvt 5,   Mvt 6,   Mvt 7
 10  Oku ou Talanoa mo Hoki Loto (Michael Atherton)
 11  Double Resonances (Bruce Crossman)
Disc 2
 1  Sonic Alchemies (SynC)
 2  Fue Sho (Garth Paine)
 3  Earth and Space - IV (Houston Dunleavy)
 4  Spiral XI:  Mother and Child (Chinary Ung)
 5  Angklung (Anne Boyd)
 6  The Whale's Song (Diana Blom)
 7  Ubasuteyama (austraL YSIS)